Search THO

      

Email Updates


What's this?


Free music on
Mp3olimp.com
Cheap Soccer Shirts

Santana f/ Chad Kroeger - Why Don't You And I
Reviews & Comments


Lyrics

Album: Shaman


Write a review for this song

Listen / Buy
Artist Chart History

Review #97
    Submitted:  November 4, 2006
    By: Andrew G.
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

I love this song. It gives me a nostalgic feeling whenever i hear it. It transitions into beautiful beats and lyrics throughout the on and does not have a boring part. Chad Kreoger has the perfect voice and attitude for this song. It sums up the 'chase' and feelings the opposite sex experiences during their pursuit of a crush. LOVE IT.

Review #96
    Submitted:  March 20, 2006
    By: Rose
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

This song is awesome!!It decribes alot of relationships your ready to try!1I love it.

Review #95
    Submitted:  July 7, 2005
    By: Roberta
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

I Love the song. The one that seems to get the most airplay is the Alex Band Version which is the one I fell in Love with. I borrowed a friends CD and was so excited to see the song but I was a little disappointed when it was a different version.

Review #94
    Submitted:  May 14, 2005
    By: Rhona
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

Sorry It's me again i forgot to rate this song 10/10 of course!!!!!!

Review #93
    Submitted:  May 14, 2005
    By: Rhona
    rating:  5 (out of 10)

Hi i just heard this song about an hour ago and i hav'nt been able to turn it off yet. it should be re-released NOW!!! it's so cool, and Chads version is soooooo sexy. He can do know wrong as far as im concerned he's Gorgeously Sexy. I was lucky enough to see Nickelback in Dec 2003 what an experiance soooooo !!! great ,I absolutley cannot wait till the next tour.I don't who wrote it but it does sound like chads work well done whoever it was .CHAD I LOVE YOU!!!!!!!

Review #92
    Submitted:  March 25, 2005
    By: JEB
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

whoever doesn't like this song must be crazy!

Review #91
    Submitted:  February 26, 2005
    By: Paul
    rating:  9 (out of 10)

I have both versions of the song, and I am taking turns listening to each one. Nickelback is 'the sh**' I must say. I'm a big fan of Chad Kroeger, but I think I actually prefer the Alex Band version of this song. It has nothing to do with his damn looks, and thats kind of weird for people to say that. I'm a dude a I am judging purely on vocal skills. It just sounds to me that Alex is able to hit higher notes with his voice, and that really puts some emotion and feeling into the song. Especially during the chorus, he really gets higher up than Chad does. So I think that is why I like his version more. Kroeger wrote the thing as you all are saying, so he deserves major credit. Saying that Alex Band's version is better doesn't mean we are trying to give Alex the credit. Its just that we prefer his vocals for this song.

Review #90
    Submitted:  February 15, 2005
    By: Elizabeth searle
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

THIS SONG IZ THE DON!NOT ONLY DOES THE SONG AV SUCH DEEP,MEANINFUL LYRIS BT EQUALY IMPORTANT IZ DA VIOCE BHIND THEM!ALEX BAND IZ RESPONSIBL FOR THE FANTASTIC VOCALS WICH MAKES DA SONG,SUR CHAD WAS DA ORIGINAL VOCALS 4 DA SONG BT ALEX'S PERFORMENCE IZ SOOO MUCH BETR!N WOT A JENIUS COLABRATION WIV SANTANA! DA ONLY WAY 2 IMPROVE IT WULD B 2 RELEAS IT!

Review #89
    Submitted:  January 26, 2005
    By: Jim Songwriter Critic
    rating:  1 (out of 10)

'Why Don't You And I'. When I first heard it, I immediately thought I have listened to the song before. Not good, because it shows that it just sounds like other songs. Then I figured it out. Structurally it is almost identical to a Creed Song. During the chorus of 'Why Don't You And I', you can sing, note for note, beat for beat, Creed's 'Hold me now.. I'm 6 feet from the edge and I'm thinking, maybe 6 feet ain't so far down'. Later in the song, it sounds like a million other ones with the same 3 chord progressions. Most notedly - it sounds like Knocking On Heaven's Door - Guns n' Roses' version! This song is nothing but a million other songs recycled, contains nothing original, and one tends to tire of it quickly. 1 star out of 5.

Review #88
    Submitted:  December 14, 2004
    By: Reesy
    rating:  5 (out of 10)

and i can spell complete

Review #87
    Submitted:  December 14, 2004
    By: Reesy
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

Whoever thinks that 8 year old boy from that pop/rock bang the calling sang this song better than Chad Kroeger the guy who actualy wrote the lyrics is a compleate moron who dosnt know a good rock voice when they hear 1

Review #86
    Submitted:  December 8, 2004
    By: kevin
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

As a musician myself and a music enthusiast I have heard many differnt songs of all types but this one really blew me away.I feel this strong is too cool! The sound is hot and the lyrics are deep and meaningfull. They really capture the feeling of falling deep for someone! Nothing says I'm into you quite like this song!

Review #85
    Submitted:  October 17, 2004
    By: John
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

Being a big fan of music, especially musically talented groups, I have listened to both this version and the Alex Band version, and although i have to say that Alex Band is not a bad singer, he does not deliver the same intensity or musical uniqueness that Chad Kroeger does. Alex did a good job of trying to copy Chad's version, since Chad could not release his version as a single, but it does not convery the intensity or passion that Chad's origional version does. Chad, as the lyricist, can express the passion of the song better, and his vocal style is just more 'into it' than Alex's. Others have said that this version has too much distortion in the guitars (aside from Carlos's riffs), however I think the distortion balances well with Carlos's riffs, and very very well with Chad's voice. This song, as sung by Chad Kroeger, is such a heartfelt melody that I can only listen in awe of the variety and deepness this song has.

Review #84
    Submitted:  October 5, 2004
    By: Floripo
    rating:  8 (out of 10)

.... dont know the Alex Band version, all I know is that Santana seems to have written it and found in Chads voice the place to be

Review #83
    Submitted:  August 19, 2004
    By: Jenn
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

I love this song, it took me forever to figure out who sung it though, and all of you ppl who like the way Alex sings it better just cause he is hot is wrong, and besides he is NOT hot, get that through your head, Chad sings it sooooo much better, and the edge in his voice that makes it that much better.

Review #82
    Submitted:  June 28, 2004
    By: star
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

THE Alex version is much better than chads i hate 2 say it but man your voice chad is much too throaty and deep 4 me!

Review #81
    Submitted:  May 15, 2004
    By: Billy G
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

This is a great tune and it kicks major ass! I don't think it really matters who sings it. The feeling and emotion of the song is still there. I believe that Chad Kroeger has a more defined and a little stronger voice than Alex, but I believe that Alex did a great job also. Who cares who sings it just keep on singing it!

Review #80
    Submitted:  May 10, 2004
    By: Jenna
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

Oops, It's Jenna again. I wanted to rate this Sing 10 outta 10, I didn't realize there was a number at the top..hehehe. Alex and Chad rock!

Review #79
    Submitted:  May 10, 2004
    By: Jenna
    rating:  5 (out of 10)

I absolutely love Alex AND Chad's voices. This song sung by either of them is just fine by me :o)

Review #78
    Submitted:  April 23, 2004
    By: Cora
    rating:  5 (out of 10)

Well.... I think everyone has got an own opinion about it..My opinion is that Alex Band is a very very good singer and does a good job. Alex - you're my favorite ;-)

Review #77
    Submitted:  April 9, 2004
    By: stephanie
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

CHAD I LOVED THIS SONG!!! U R AMAZING. I LUV U SO MUCH!!WELL UR VOICE, UR BAND...I DON'T KNOW U BUT I WOULD LOVE TO MEET U. WITH LOVE STEPHANIE

Review #76
    Submitted:  April 9, 2004
    By: STEPHI STEPH
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

I LOVE ALL THE MEMBERS OF NICKELBACK,BUT CHAD HAS THE LEAD VOICE THAT MAKES MY HART BEAT FAST. IF ANYTHING I WOULD LOVE TO SEE THEM IN CONCERT. NICKELBACK KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK

Review #75
    Submitted:  April 9, 2004
    By: Stephanie
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

I love Chad! he is an amazing artist! He so good looking, So is Ryan Peak. Chad is has a good voice. I love this song i can listen to it all day!

Review #74
    Submitted:  March 19, 2004
    By: Angelbaby
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

I'm not all that great with telling the difference with artist's voices, cuz honestly I dont care who sings it. I LOVE LOVE LOVE 'why dont you and I' I've only heard one version of it and I dont know if it's Alex or Chad. But I do know this, I LOVE The Calling and I LOVE Nickelback so I wouldnt mind either version.

Review #73
    Submitted:  March 14, 2004
    By: Amber
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

WHAT'S UP WITH ALL YOU PEOPLE?!?!?!?!?!? CAN'T YOU TELL THAT CHAD KROEGER WAS DEFITNETLY BETTER THAN THE STUPID ALEX KID! HE'S JUST A KID TRYING TO SING AND IT'S NOT WORKING! CHAD KROEGER SINGS IT SO GOOD AND HE HAS THE MOST AWESOME VOICE EVER!! PLEASE GET THE FREKING PEANUT BUTTER OUT OF YOUR EARS AND MAYBE U CAN TELL THAT CHAD KROEGER DEFITNETLY SANG IT BETTER

Review #72
    Submitted:  March 2, 2004
    By: Jennifer Friars
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

Chad clearly has the better voice in this song. Alex sounds like a little kid, where as Chad's voice has that edge to it. I JUST saw Nickelback in concert last Wednesday night and before that, I liked his songs, not the singer. But after seeing them in concert, I now think they are an excellent group and he is soo funny. I first heard this song as Chad singing it and thats who should be singing it, not anyone else. Sorry, I forgot to rate it the first time

Review #71
    Submitted:  March 2, 2004
    By: Jennifer Friars
    rating:  5 (out of 10)

Chad clearly has the better voice in this song. Alex sounds like a little kid, where as Chad's voice has that edge to it. I JUST saw Nickelback in concert last Wednesday night and before that, I liked his songs, not the singer. But after seeing them in concert, I now think they are an excellent group and he is soo funny. I first heard this song as Chad singing it and thats who should be singing it, not anyone else.

Review #70
    Submitted:  February 26, 2004
    By: Sarah
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

i LUV this song!!!!! when i first heard it i fell in luv wit chad all over again. he's got a great voice, 'n' he sounds awesome wit santana. 'n' the fact that he wrote that song?! he's brilliant as well as gorgeous!!!! 'n' he does have an edge 2 his voice which makes the song even better!!! OMG!!!! i can't believe u ppl who think that he sux 'n' that it sounds better when alex sings it, NO!!!!! CHAD wrote it, CHAD sings it, CHAD deserves the cred, not alex!!!! sheesh, u should b ashamed!!!! i'm disappointed in all of u (even though i more than likely dun know n e of u). CHAD KROEGER IS AMAZING AND SO IS HIS VOICE!!!!!!! THIS SONG IS BETTER SUNG BY CHAD!!!!!!!! CHAD 4 EVER!!!!!

Review #69
    Submitted:  February 8, 2004
    By: meaghan
    rating:  5 (out of 10)

alex sings better than ugly chad CHAD SUCKS ALEX RULES HE IS SOOOOOOOOOO CUTE ALEX IF YOU EVER READ THIS PLEASE EMAIL ME

Review #68
    Submitted:  February 5, 2004
    By: Araminta
    rating:  5 (out of 10)

Chad could not sing on this track due to management issues.

Review #67
    Submitted:  February 5, 2004
    By: Araminta
    rating:  7 (out of 10)

This is another example of Chad's ability to speak to the female part of the world. His voice is so silky that you almost melt just hearing it. He is a man, where that little Alex kid is to young to even get the jists of the lyrics

Review #66
    Submitted:  February 3, 2004
    By: MEG
    rating:  1 (out of 10)

THIS SONG IS SO MUCH BETTER WITH ALEX BAND. I DON'T CARE THATCHAD WROTE THE SONG. HE SHOULD JUST TAKE IT AS A GOOD SONG, AND LET THE BEST MAN SING IT, AND CLEARLY, THAT'S ALEX. THAT'S WHY HE'S THE ONE ON THE RADIO AND ON THE CD. THANKS GOD FOR WHOEVER GOT ALEX TO SING THIS SONG. IT'S PERFECT. GOOD JOB CHAD ON WRITING SUCH A GOOD SONG.

Review #65
    Submitted:  January 29, 2004
    By: Iceman
    rating:  9 (out of 10)

I think that this song is one that no matter who sings it, it will be great. That just goes to show how good of a song writer chad really is. Both versions are excellent

Review #64
    Submitted:  January 10, 2004
    By: chad luver
    rating:  5 (out of 10)

the first time i heard this song, i fell in love with it. why because chad's voice rocks and has an edge on it as if you can really feel his emotion on it. i was so shock when i heard alex was the one who's featured in the radios. i was like, whattt!??!! this is chad's song and noone could have sung better than him. alex is like a copycat following chad's style but his voice clearly doesn't sound good. it's got no feeling on it. he's just some kid trying to rock but just can't quite pull the trigger. chad rocks. i luv chad and this song i've listened to hundreds and hundreds of time and loving it more and more it's all because of chad's cool voice. he should have the full credit as he wrote the song. alex is only a substitute and doesn't deserve a credit. alex wouldn't even got to the tops of a song if not of this chad kroeger song. what a shame that chad's record label won't allow him to release this song as a single the charts' results would have been a lot better than with alex. and, the video with alex on it looks so stupid and lame, flying around like some idiot!!! hate that video.it would be a lot cooler if chad got into that video. yo chad...you rule!!!!

Review #63
    Submitted:  January 7, 2004
    By: OverSoul
    rating:  9 (out of 10)

I've been singing pro since I was 10 years old, after 25 years I consider myself a master at recognizing vocal style. When I first heard this song I said 'Hey that's Nickelback', But then I got halfway through the song and said 'Man......maybe this ain't Nickelback....If it's not then somebody should sue.' Then I heard the Guitar Solo.....and said Wait a minute.....Santana???.....Hmmmm. Then My 10 yeard old said he saw the video and some blonde kid was singing. Well I said 'I KNOW that Chad wrote that vocal line....If not the whole song.' And I was right..... Let me tell you this.....Chad let this kid sing the song and he did a fairly good job of copying chads styles and nuances. Alex did almost NO improvising on this song....but thats not a bad thing....because the style was already right on the money.....and it would have been quite cheesey to mess with it. I would have been VERY proud to sing this song just at Chad wrote it......and I'm sure Alex feels the same way. See Yuh OverSoul

Review #62
    Submitted:  January 6, 2004
    By: tom
    rating:  5 (out of 10)

chad rules!! i like his version because he sings naturally, though alex is good but i prefer the original. c'mon, just give the credit to chad

Review #61
    Submitted:  January 3, 2004
    By: Woz
    rating:  5 (out of 10)

Are you all listening to this song through chessey PC speakers? I will give you the fact that Chad Kroeger can sing. But take his voice outside of the stereotyped Nickleback crap and he goes no where! SOunds like he is gasping for air between every break. THe dude from the Calling does a superior job of this song, hence it's top rating with him sing NOT Chad Kroger. Oh well, I guess we will have to wait for Spiderman 2 for anything more creative!

Review #60
    Submitted:  December 29, 2003
    By: toss pot
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

i like chad kroeger so there

Review #59
    Submitted:  December 18, 2003
    By: Betty
    rating:  0 (out of 10)

I think the CD versions sucks compared to the radio version!! I want my money back.

Review #58
    Submitted:  December 9, 2003
    By: Adam
    rating:  8 (out of 10)

I think both versions of the song are great... The Chad Kroeger version has a few pluses vocally, but the distortion on the guitar is too heavy as compared to Santana's smooth sound. The Alex version seems to flow better as a whole. Both rock!

Review #57
    Submitted:  December 4, 2003
    By: mrgmparts
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

Chad rules, Alex is ok. Gotta give a 10 cuz I listen to Chad's version. Alex gets a 7. Kinda compares to Enya singing instead of Michelle Branch...

Review #56
    Submitted:  December 3, 2003
    By: spyderman1810
    rating:  8 (out of 10)

i would prefer chad's version of the song why dont you and i rather than the one with alex band of the calling. while alex's voice is okay, chad's rocks and i must say that only chad can give justice to a wonderful song such as this. any dissenters?

Review #55
    Submitted:  November 29, 2003
    By: Sam
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

I only listen to this song when chad sings it i don't like the one with Alex singing it.When chad sings it I get chills, and I love it when song do that to me.I blast the radio when it comes on.

Review #54
    Submitted:  November 22, 2003
    By: Jay
    rating:  7 (out of 10)

I just recently heard the version with Alex Band. It just doesn't have the same feeling in the vocals. Chad Kroeger wrote the song and it seems that is what everyone is forgeting about. Reading some of these posts people are saying that Santana and Alex Band should get the credit for this song when in turn this song is Chad's. He Wrote It!! I don't care for the Alex Band version, just doesn't have the same depth and feeling in the vocals as Chad has. I'm just surprised that Chad would give permission to have someone else record it. But then again I'm sure everyone is getting there money.

Review #53
    Submitted:  November 13, 2003
    By: Barbara
    rating:  5 (out of 10)

This song is amazing, I loved it! The lyrics are great. Both versions are good, but Chad Kroeger's version is 'deep.' I can totally feel the emotion and the love, it makes me want someone bad!!!

Review #52
    Submitted:  November 12, 2003
    By: Task
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

The Chad version is the only one I will listen to. The Alex version I didn't care for. I didn't care to hear it again. As soon as I heard the version with Kroger, I had to have it.

Review #51
    Submitted:  November 9, 2003
    By: krazy_punk
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

Hey Im almost positive that it's not Chad!! because the song just came on tv and it said it was infact by Santana and Alex Band! Crazyness! but the only way it could be chad kroeger is if santana has two of the songs out right now...which i highly doubt!!

Review #50
    Submitted:  November 4, 2003
    By: Chasity
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

Way to go Chad!:) Chad keep them coming, I'll keep on listening!!

Review #49
    Submitted:  November 3, 2003
    By: faewolf
    rating:  5 (out of 10)

I don't know about this song...they play it too much on the radio

Review #48
    Submitted:  October 30, 2003
    By: rahel
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

thank you. i havent heard the chad version of the song but im sure its really good. iv heard the alex band version and its amazing!!

Review #47
    Submitted:  October 28, 2003
    By: Katynou
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

well, first of all i'd like to say that i'm french and in my country, this single is not in stores yet! I discovered it by chance and I must admit that I love it with both of the singers. I am a great fan of Alex band and of the Calling but I also like Chad and Nickelback . What I have been trying to say is that there is no comparaison in my opinion between the two singers. They are both fantastic and this song is very beautiful, no mater who sings it

Review #46
    Submitted:  October 27, 2003
    By: rahel
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

are you all from america on here?? im from britain and i want that song so damn much!!!!! SOME ONE PLEASE HELP ME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Review #45
    Submitted:  October 27, 2003
    By: rahel
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

are you all from america on here?? im from britain and i want that song so damn much!!!!! SOME ONE PLEASE HELP ME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Review #44
    Submitted:  October 27, 2003
    By: rahel
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

eer, hi, im really really confused. i thought santana and alex band sung why dont oyu and i !! iv even seen the video. i love the song!!! but WHEN DOES IT COME OUT IN BRITAIN???????????? iv looked everywhere and cant find it. im dieing to get that song its sooooooo unfair!!! please if anyone knows CONTACT MEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!!

Review #43
    Submitted:  October 26, 2003
    By: planetneutral
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

The problem with the Alex Band version is that he sounds too sweet and innocent. There's just that little bit of edge in Chad's voice that makes the desperate emotional content come off as more genuine. Chad's version is a 10; Alex's version is an 8.5.

Review #42
    Submitted:  October 24, 2003
    By: holly
    rating:  8 (out of 10)

i love alex band so much! his voice is so awesome. but unlike half the people on here, i'm not gonna dis chad just because i like alex better. i am mature enough to realize that it's my opinion that alex sounds better, which obviously some of you are not. it's a shame to sink to such a level over a song that people should enjoy EITHER WAY.

Review #41
    Submitted:  October 21, 2003
    By: Sheryn
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

The first time i heard this song on radio was the Alex Band version and i loved it. Over here in NZ they only play the Alex version and i thought that the Chad Kroeger version wouldn't be as good. But i bought the album and now i really like the Chad version. His voice is clearer and 'real'. I've noticed that there's a very slight change in the lyrics between the versions, and in that respect i prefer the Alex version. They're both wicked!

Review #40
    Submitted:  October 21, 2003
    By: Sheryn
    rating:  5 (out of 10)

The first time i heard this song on radio was the Alex Band version and i loved it. Over here in NZ they only play the Alex version and i thought that the Chad Kroeger version wouldn't be as good. But i bought the album and now i really like the Chad version. His voice is clearer and 'real'. I've noticed that there's a very slight change in the lyrics between the versions, and in that respect i prefer the Alex version. They're both wicked!

Review #39
    Submitted:  October 19, 2003
    By: nickelback fan
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

This song rocks! Chad Kroeger rocks! The Alex Band thing is horrible compared to Chad's. Rock on Chad Kroeger!

Review #38
    Submitted:  October 18, 2003
    By: Vixen
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

This song really does rock- but whats the big deal with who sings it? Both vocalists bring something the other cant. Just so you know- VH1 doesnt even mention Alex Band. The video is kind of wierd tho. Santana brings great guitar riffs to Chad lyrics, with Alex band singing. Its not anyones fault for who sings what- its part of the business... Chads under a lot a structure and Im sure he had a lot of say for who was able to sing his song.

Review #37
    Submitted:  October 18, 2003
    By: Julez
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

The Radio's in Milwaukee play both versions. At first, I only knew of Alex Band as the Vocals. Then I heard the Chad Kroeger version, and thought it sounded different. When they announced it was in fact Kroeger, I snapped, because this is one of my favorite songs. But now I know both sides. Although I love both versions, I like Chad Kroeger's version because it sounds a little more Heartfelt.

Review #36
    Submitted:  October 18, 2003
    By: Mike
    rating:  8 (out of 10)

Chad wrote it, sang it and did a great job doing it. It is a shame that such a talented individual like Chad gets overrided by Alex Band. The only reason Alex came in the picture was because Chads record label did not allow it to become a single. Santana knew it would be a hit so he got Alex to do it. Can you say rip off. Chad deserves the credit. Thumbs up to Chad. Alex sucks!

Review #35
    Submitted:  October 7, 2003
    By: kaia
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

This is THE BEST song ever recorded in history...rock on Santana and Chad Kroeger!! I love you guys forever!

Review #34
    Submitted:  October 7, 2003
    By: A Big Fan
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

I Love the song whether it is with Chad or Alex, although I do prefer Alex more I like his sexy voice.

Review #33
    Submitted:  October 5, 2003
    By: tmrgn
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

I LOVE this song with Chad singing...It sux with Alex Band....he IS hot, but not as hot as Chad and his voice doesnt have nearly as much range as Chad either, he sounds like every other teeny bopper on the airways today

Review #32
    Submitted:  October 4, 2003
    By: Rock N Roller JOJO
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

The Alex Band version of this song is ten times better. Chad just isnt well suited for this song, because it is a love song. Although it does kind of sound like a boy band song, that's just fine by me. This song is a song that i would love to sing to my girlfriend (if i could sing!) Definitely one of the best of 2003.

Review #31
    Submitted:  October 3, 2003
    By: brittany
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

I love this song. Alex band sang it so much better than chac. maybe i think that because i love alex band and he is so hot. He has a way sexier voice than chad

Review #30
    Submitted:  October 3, 2003
    By: Jessica
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

I totally agree with lindsey the song sounds alot better with chad. This song sounds great with his voice. with alex it sounds to much like a backstreet boyz song and we all know they are done for and that sound isnt in rite now. now chad has a history for doin great songs and this is one more for his list! I love this song it has great lyrics and its just totally awesome ova all! keep up the great work chad!!!!!!

Review #29
    Submitted:  September 29, 2003
    By: Lindsey
    rating:  9 (out of 10)

I totally love the song, but the version with Chad Kroeger is way better!!! Chad has this edge in his voice that makes the song 'real'. With Alex, it's sounds more like a 'boy band' tune. Either way, I'm glad the song is getting more popular so I can hear it all the time on the radio!

Review #28
    Submitted:  September 29, 2003
    By: Jeff
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

Your scale needs to go higher because I give this song an 11! I, of course, am a HUGE Alex Band fan. There's just something about Chad's voice that doesn't do the song justice. Chad is too rugged for this song. Alex is more the pretty boi you could see singing this song. Either way, the song is awesome!

Review #27
    Submitted:  September 24, 2003
    By: eyyeo
    rating:  9 (out of 10)

A quality song like this doesn't come up very often.

Review #26
    Submitted:  September 17, 2003
    By: Sam
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

Truth UPDATE! Santana was unable to release the Chad Kroeger version as a single because the record label wouldn't allow it. So the version on Shaman is Chad, while the version on most radio stations is Alex Band from The Calling. If you listen to both versions, you can definetly tell a difference. Chad has a much deeper and stronger voice, while I find Alex's to be weak. Alex's voice doesn't fit the song well.

Review #25
    Submitted:  September 17, 2003
    By: fan
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

Are you all retarded???? It's wasn't re-recorded because Chad was too ugly for the video. Oh Please!! It was redone because Santana wanted to release the song as a single but Chad's record label wouldn't let it so Santana had to redo it.

Review #24
    Submitted:  September 17, 2003
    By: Shawn Patrick
    rating:  8 (out of 10)

I love both versions. The album version with Chad is a little 'heavier handed' in the guitar and lead-vocal area, leading me to prefer the single version just a tad. Both sound great on my car radio! Though Chad wrote the song, he didn't want it released as a single due to the timing of Nickelback's new disk. Too much competition and/or confusion he thought. But he wasn't opposed to the song being released with a newly recorded vocal. In walks Alex Band of the Calling. Chad makes money on the song either way and Santana has another well-deserved smash!

Review #23
    Submitted:  September 15, 2003
    By: Amanda
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

this is a great song...my friend and i actually had a bet, b/c she said that Alex Band sang it, and i had only heard the Chad Kroeger version, so we bet $1 on it...and it turns out we're BOTH right! how cool is that?? but it's a great song anyway...we both love it tonz!! :)

Review #22
    Submitted:  September 15, 2003
    By: Mia
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

Hmm . First i heard the song with Chads voice and then the voice of Alex . But i like it more when Chad is singing . He wrote the song . And now ? Now this song is Number One in the charts here in Germany .But its the song with Alexs voice . Thas not fair . In the news i heard that it isn't chads voice cause Santana said that Chad is too ugly for the viedo . When he makes a record with Chad then he should bring it out with Chads voice . And not the voice of Alex . I think he just needed a good song (lyric) . Sorry .But Thats my opinion . I don't know what you think about ... Somebody likes it more with Alex the others with Chad . ( i hope i wrote all right . Cause I'm german and can't speak english very well . Sorry but I'm just 13 )

Review #21
    Submitted:  September 12, 2003
    By: Kenna Galvan
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

This song is like the best!! it is my favorite and has been forever. Im listning to it now!! i like it so much better with alex band. chad's voice does not go very well with this song. alex's does. im actually disappointed in the version with chad. i guess it might be because i always hear the version with alex and that is why i fell in love with it. alex and santana should both be praised for this awesome song. not chad. i think chad really messed it up. and didn't do good at all. and the real reason this song is a hit is because of alex. but that is my opinion. 'ERYTIME I TRY TO TALK TO YOU, I GET TONGUE-TIED, TURNS OUT EVERYTHING I SAY TO YOU, COMES OUT WRONG AND NEVER COMES OUT RIGHT.'

Review #20
    Submitted:  September 11, 2003
    By: ALINA
    rating:  7 (out of 10)

The lyrics are a little too cheesy for Chad.I don't think he'll ever play a song like this with Nickelback.It's a girl song.I don't know the version with Alex.

Review #19
    Submitted:  September 10, 2003
    By: melissa
    rating:  8 (out of 10)

this song is freaking awsome..i love it..its seriously my new fav song..everyone def needs to get the CD..they make a good team..they need to have more songs together!!!!

Review #18
    Submitted:  September 6, 2003
    By: Angie
    rating:  5 (out of 10)

This is definately an awesome song! I loved and then I realized I owned it!! ANyway, I don't know when or why Alex Band came in, I have heard it on the radio, but on Santana's 'Shaman' album, which is sitting here in front of me, it is sang by Chad Kroeger!

Review #17
    Submitted:  September 5, 2003
    By: Brenda Schoentag
    rating:  8 (out of 10)

I am a Santana and also Nickelback fan, I just started hearing this song on the radio the other day (although from the other postings it's been around a while)and I came home and downloaded it. (I'm listening to it now) I've got to say this song rocks!! They are a great combination.

Review #16
    Submitted:  September 5, 2003
    By: Dominus
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

I heard this song way back in December of 2002 on the radio. It was with Chad. When did this Alex version come out? I heard there is a video as well? Is it just hitting mainstream now? Because the song to me is over 1/2 a year old now. I guess the same can be said about Kid Rock/Crow - Picture. I heard this song on the radio right when Kid Rock's - c***y came out, probably almost 2 years ago! I think it was over a year and 1/2 before it actually made it big and got it's own video. Which is weird, because I don't really remember any other song of Kid Rock's album doing so great, so it was wonder what took him/them so long to get it out there?

Review #15
    Submitted:  September 4, 2003
    By: LangdoN
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

omg, i love this song. i can really relate to it.

Review #14
    Submitted:  September 3, 2003
    By: eza
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

ha! the song rocks! i fell in love with it the moment i heard it. chad kroeger's 'throaty' voice really makes the song sound sooo good. I was so disappointed when i heard about alex band having a version of this song and when i finally heard alex's version of the song, I was so disappointed. Compared to chad, alex sounded like a typical boyband. it is so frustrating to know that alex band gets all the praise now. :(

Review #13
    Submitted:  August 27, 2003
    By: jam(3)bei-b'
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

auh..they're really really great!! i love the song. my friend loves 'the calling' so much!!! rocks.rules.right?

Review #12
    Submitted:  August 27, 2003
    By: mark
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

alex band and santana,,,hmmm.. they made a good music.

Review #11
    Submitted:  August 27, 2003
    By: Music Maniac
    rating:  7 (out of 10)

Hey A Poet....there are two versions of the song...since obviously you weren't paying attention. The song was WRITTEN and ORIGINALLY recorded by CHAD KROEGER and Santana. Because of a dispute with Chad's record labor (they didn't want to release him from his contract to allow him to do this ONE song as a single...guess they missed out on THAT money train..idiots) they brought in Alex Band from the Calling to cut the single version you hear on the radio. I think it's a shame that people don't know the truth about that...Chad deserves the recognition for this awesome tune! I guess I am just tired of Santana getting all the praise from his collaborations with popular vocalists...like his album Supernatural...it would not have been such a grammy winning hit without all the vocalists and POPULAR singers that did all the vocals on it. Without those people to carry that album, Santana would still be trying to get back into the mainstream. He's an excellent guitarist, but without the fronting vocals of today's stars like Rob Thomas, Everlast and Michelle Branch, Supernatural would have bombed!

Review #10
    Submitted:  August 27, 2003
    By: nanna2roo
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

This song is a definite 10,anyone who is a chad kroeger fan,knows why there are two different songs and why the alex band is on santanas cd.The radio station I listen to though,plays the santana/chad kroeger version though.I like it much better!

Review #9
    Submitted:  August 25, 2003
    By: Alley
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

If it's not Chad Kroeger singing it then why is this site saying featuring Chad Kroeger ? Can anyone tell me who actually SINGS this song and what CD is it on ? Thanks

Review #8
    Submitted:  August 24, 2003
    By: alex
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

who ever doesn't give this song a 10 there dumb!!!

Review #7
    Submitted:  August 24, 2003
    By: Molly
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

this has to be the best song ever!!!!!!

Review #6
    Submitted:  August 24, 2003
    By: V
    rating:  5 (out of 10)

I admit I don't know who Alex is, but the song that I'm listening to right now is most definitely sung by Chad. And this song rocks.

Review #5
    Submitted:  August 22, 2003
    By: Metalhead
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

I liked this song the first time i played my santana cd. And in the cd it's CHAD KROEGER that sang this. I like Chad's version more than Alex's. The video's weird, by the way.

Review #4
    Submitted:  August 5, 2003
    By: KC
    rating:  5 (out of 10)

The orginial song was not only sung by Chad it was also written by him. Check out Santana's website. The song on the Santana's cd was also by Chad. Apparently where was an issue with the record companies and it could not be released as a single with Chad's voice on the song so they brought in Alex. I personally like listening to the cd more than hearing it on the radio.

Review #3
    Submitted:  August 4, 2003
    By: ??
    rating:  6 (out of 10)

The song has 2 different versions..one with Alex Band as the vocalist and one with Chad Kroeger. Does anyone know why this is?

Review #2
    Submitted:  July 29, 2003
    By: me
    rating:  7 (out of 10)

maybe it isn't chad, but it definately is NOT alex band! that made me laugh when i read that becuase if you know what alex band sounds like, his voice is NOT that deep. *laughs* if it isnt chad kroeger, then i dont know who it is. thanks for your input anyways!

Review #1
    Submitted:  July 29, 2003
    By: A poet
    rating:  5 (out of 10)

the only problem i see with this song is that some people are stupid enough to not listen. Lyrics sites have it all wrong. Chad from nickleback does not do the vocal part of that song. Next time you go to a music store check. Why don't you and I features Alex Band frontman of the calling. I love the song and I think the lyrics are hearthrob material. The fact that santana can keep it all going is wonderful also, this has the potential to be a classic love song, with and twist.

Click here to write a song review

          


Inspirational Quotes       ihop coupons       Logos

Contact THO   |    Partners   |    Advertise Here   |    Privacy Policy
Copyright © 1995-2014 TopHitsOnline.com, All Rights Reserved