Search THO

      

Email Updates


What's this?


Cheap Soccer Shirts

Coldplay - The Scientist
Reviews & Comments


Lyrics

Album: A Rush Of Blood To The Head


Write a review for this song

Listen / Buy
Artist Chart History

Review #91
    Submitted:  April 6, 2007
    By: DJM
    rating:  1 (out of 10)

What is wrong with all you folks who think this is an awesome song. Do you all have mush for brains. This is one of the sappiest, most depressing, whiny, and wishy washy songs I have ever heard in my life. I hate this song. My wife has it on her myspace page and it drives me absolutely bonkers. What a load of stupid emo crap! What happened to all the cool bands from the UK, are those days gone? Blahhk, Coldplay sucks!

Review #90
    Submitted:  April 6, 2007
    By: DJM
    rating:  5 (out of 10)

What is wrong with all you folks who think this is an awesome song. Do you all have mush for brains. This is one of the sappiest, most depressing, whiny, and wishy washy songs I have ever heard in my life. I hate this song. My wife has it on her myspace page and it drives me absolutely bonkers. What a load of stupid emo crap! What happened to all the cool bands from the UK, are those days gone? Blahhk, Coldplay sucks!

Review #89
    Submitted:  November 16, 2006
    By: paticake59
    rating:  5 (out of 10)

This song is unbelievable. while my ex and i were going through a breakup, he told me this song is what he was feeling-but i was too angry at the time to actually listen to what the lyrics meant. Over a year later, we're finally talking again. I listened to the scientist and realized that all he wanted to do is 'take it back to the start'. and now, all i want to know is if it is possible for us to start all over again.

Review #88
    Submitted:  March 8, 2006
    By: Still NormZz
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

(I had to edit my rating! it's a shame to let such error pass! ) The beauty of this song lies on the fact that the words were written in such sweet sincerity and honesty that one could not help but be moved..such evocative lyrics always makes my heart lurch..it totally captures the picture of complexity in romance..which ironically,have never ceased to fascinate men of all creed..

Review #87
    Submitted:  March 8, 2006
    By: NormZz (still a hopeless romantic)
    rating:  5 (out of 10)

The beauty of this song lies on the fact that the words were written in such sweet sincerity and honesty that one could not help but be moved..such evocative lyrics always makes my heart lurch..it totally captures the picture of complexity in romance..which ironically,have never ceased to fascinate men of all creed..

Review #86
    Submitted:  June 30, 2005
    By: Vic
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

Over the last year I've come to know a special woman. She is a rare one! A combination of beauty, intelligence, humor, and compassion. Now, she is leaving for a better future far away. She is very complicated and I suspect she knows I see deeper into her puzzles than most anyone else. It's her protection from the world, I think. To me this song will always be about her. We went in crazy circles, made mistakes with each other and others, and through it all...remained close friends. If I could go back to the start i would, just to have another day with her. Christine, I will miss you.

Review #85
    Submitted:  June 7, 2005
    By: the motis
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

great song so much emotion dont know if there isnt a single person in the world that cant connect with this song the bittersweetness of it all brings me smiles and tears great song

Review #84
    Submitted:  May 29, 2005
    By: marcus
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

I remember reading an article where Chris Martin said him and a friend came up with the idea of the song by all the relationships they had screwed up by overanalyzing everything as opposed to just following your heart. This is absolutely one of the best songs I've ever heard. The lyrics are so genuine and honest that I feel both happy and sad at the same time.

Review #83
    Submitted:  May 28, 2005
    By: ld3
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

brilliant

Review #82
    Submitted:  May 8, 2005
    By: Shawn
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

This Song is truly amazing! .. i read on a site called songfacts.com that This is about a scientist who is so caught up in his work that he neglects his girlfriend, but realizes it eventually and wants to 'go back to the start' and begin fresh.

Review #81
    Submitted:  April 20, 2005
    By: kris
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

This song is one of the best songs that i have heard in a long time but the song is not what alot of people think it is about it is not about a girl the song is about god and living the life of a scientist an athiest 'i was just guessing with numbers and figures pulling the puzzles apart' hes basically apologizing and explaining his life he has lived 'come up to meet you tell you im sorry you dont know how lovely you are' he is talking to god or jesus.......good song

Review #80
    Submitted:  February 26, 2005
    By: Lonely
    rating:  5 (out of 10)

Although I have heard this song before, It never had any meaning until it was played at my best friends funeral. I felt as though the words expressed everything I was feeling and said everything I wanted to tell her. After battling years of depression, I know that she is finally safe from all of her worries. 'No one ever said it would be this hard'. Come up to meet you, tell you Im sorry You dont know how lovely you are

Review #79
    Submitted:  January 7, 2005
    By: Gisela
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

Sorry, I meant to rate the song 10..is the best one ever, sorry for my sad love story....:))

Review #78
    Submitted:  January 7, 2005
    By: Gisela
    rating:  5 (out of 10)

This song just really captured me..first time I heard it was when I was watching Wicker Park, the instant I heard the first lines I asked, who sings this? then forward the movie to find out it was Coldplay. The movie and the song got me in a moment which I can relate to..as I am wishing, he could take me back to the start...and not set me apart, as he did. I felt in love with someone that temporarily was here and has to go back to South Africa. In my case I wish he listened to the song and realized that love is not science..and realize that even if doesn't talk to me, love would just not go away... I can't get him off my toughts..he is here still and went to dinner with him last night (after not seeing him for 2months)...I feel tied...I realized last night that we still feel for each other, even if we pretended to be just friends and talked about everything except us..I just wanted him to kiss me..I felt he wanted too, but wow he is strong...he's leaving to SA in a week and I can't stop him..I just pray to God to help me go through it fast, after loosing my husband 4 years ago, I didn't think I would felt in love again, ..I hope he listens to this song and .. Tell me he loves me Come back and haunt me Oh and I rush to the start..

Review #77
    Submitted:  November 8, 2004
    By: TH
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

I love this song, but I want to know more about it. Does anyone know the true meaning of it? What does Chirs Martin say it meant? Does anyone know?

Review #76
    Submitted:  October 9, 2004
    By: Tara
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

I love this song. It makes me feel like m am not the only person going through certain feelings, and that others too have felt it. It makes me want to cry, smile, laugh and think. It is truely amazing. The best thing is that it reminds me of the first guy i loved. How i stuffed up and wish i 'could go back to the start'.

Review #75
    Submitted:  September 21, 2004
    By: navi
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

wow this is a great song, totally original just like Chris Martin's daughter's name. Get a load of this............ Apple Martin. That's so awesome. Just like The Scientist.Classic!

Review #74
    Submitted:  September 20, 2004
    By: angie
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

This is one of the most truthful and beautiful songs of our time. This song could bring tears and memories to anyones eyes. This song is an experience all in itself:)

Review #73
    Submitted:  September 6, 2004
    By: Robert
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

Honestly, I believe this is one of the greatest songs ever written, and is overlooked by many. I think this song could actually change alot of people, and their outlook on life. Not only does it have perfection, but it has complete originality. Nothing compares to this beautiful song, and it will continue to enchant many lives into the future.

Review #72
    Submitted:  August 19, 2004
    By: Lee
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

Falling in love with a friend on accident is the hardest thing to let go. Knowing every moment spent with this person, there is a symbol of vows around your finger and silent pain within your heart. The curse of this fresh new love takes over your mind and leads you to temptation. Selfishness of being lost in the moment, blocking the world out around you digs deep into your shallow pitted heart.It's the company,the laughter,the tears, and the silence when they don't have too say anything at all that makes you feel that comfort. The memories of places or songs, the way the wind is blowing, or the light mist of rain that hits your face like a fresh Seattle morning reminds you of all that could have been. Your heart still feels heavy but without the extra weight. Faith is the only thing you have to hold on to, regardless of the negativity in your life. Let it meand my thready heart, and cleanse my soul of all filth I have let take over. Maybe it was meant to be, maybe not. Letting go may be the only way of knowing. 'Nobody said it was easy,it's such a shame for us to part. Nobody said it was easy, no one ever said it would be this hard, Oh take me back to the start.'

Review #71
    Submitted:  July 20, 2004
    By: MIKE
    rating:  5 (out of 10)

this song help me fantasize about i girl i once loved and this song helped me love her more and also help me just to start over again

Review #70
    Submitted:  July 2, 2004
    By: peggy mcginnis
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

nothing beats the beautiful lyrics incorperated by coldplays scientist. it is absolutly beautiful. you have to listen to it undesturbed to get the full throttle of their meaning. coldplay is deep and only few can find what they are really about and understand it. its a materpeice of art and deserves all the attention it has been given.

Review #69
    Submitted:  June 30, 2004
    By: Waylander
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

For me, probably one of the greatest songs of the modern era. It is a truly powerful song with almost infinite meaning. Every fan will relate to this song at a personal level, and I am no exception. Brilliant.

Review #68
    Submitted:  June 26, 2004
    By: Bruno
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

I'd buy the entire album just for this song.

Review #67
    Submitted:  June 8, 2004
    By: Brenda Lea
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

By feeling the emotion, passion, and pain that is expressed and brings are attention to step back and bring us forward... We all at some point become seperated in many forms, yet at some point we reunite physically emotionally or spiritually. The point of knowing that life is full of tears but also laughter in the end... We become bonded to some degree and never lose the part of love that seems to become invisible yet remembered for us as humans. I will remember the senses I experienced during the first moments this song came into my life. During a relationship of growth and renewal. I then became distracted by confusion in my life, but now I once again dedicate this song to a therapist who released me to the world to be independent. That was the best thing in my life, the patterns of this song will say the secrets of your life forever. Never give up or quit... keep searching for the equation to life. Because there will bean answer of definite love, and equality.

Review #66
    Submitted:  June 7, 2004
    By: Christoph
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

The Scientist is simply the greatest love song ever written (the second greatest being U2's All I Want is You). If I knew how to cry, I would weep a torrential downpour at hearing it.

Review #65
    Submitted:  May 21, 2004
    By: a lover
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

I just discovered this song recently. I'm looking at the reviews of other people, mostly younger. I'm way older than you - a lifetime of loving to look back on. And this song pierces my heart--- my heart which I thought had nothing much going on inside anymore. All the years fall away....my grief is fresh. I outlived you, beloved . When I hear this song, I do go back to the start. If anyone reads this.....it is hard.....but don't let that stop you from loving.

Review #64
    Submitted:  May 18, 2004
    By: Mark
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

Listening to this song made my break up easier to bear

Review #63
    Submitted:  May 13, 2004
    By: Jamie
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

I heard this song about 3 years ago, i hated it. Now i'm 15, and it's most probably the only song i listen to. My family are sick of me playing it, but i don't care - This song just reminds me of a chance i had before...But i couldn't do it. It's an amazing song, and it's the permanent #1 in my favorite songs. There's no other song like it. The first few lines touch me the most... (Come up to meet you, Tell you I'm sorry, You don't know how lovely you are. I had to find you, Tell you I need you, Tell you I set you apart.) It's truely the best song ever. If you haven't listened to it, go listen. You'll be shocked at how great this song is...

Review #62
    Submitted:  May 5, 2004
    By: kad berry
    rating:  6 (out of 10)

I wanna cry everytime I hear this song....

Review #61
    Submitted:  April 15, 2004
    By: Valerie
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

I'm a huge Coldplay fan, and this is probably my favorite song by them. It's a really beautiful song, but then I love piano music like that lol.

Review #60
    Submitted:  March 28, 2004
    By: archie adams
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

When I first heard this song, I was surely elated by it. It is so unique. The style, the lyrics, the melody, is just so enchanting. Its like listening to a whole new era and a new perspective in music. I just love the music of coldplay and to listen to this song makes the whole new day whole and complete. The only thing is, sometimes listening to it just once isn't just enough.

Review #59
    Submitted:  March 17, 2004
    By: sparkle tangerine
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

I like this song alot but...it's not my favourite song!! Yellow by Coldplay is my favourite song!!!I truly do like 'the scientist' though!! See my earlier review below!! Coldplay is my favourite band!!Oh and I'm no longer twelve I'm thirteen now!! C ya ;)

Review #58
    Submitted:  March 15, 2004
    By: Joyce
    rating:  5 (out of 10)

sometimes i feel like ican fly other times i feel so high on life but when im wit you you make me feel so damb blue i dont know why i allways cry i wish you would just f***ing die

Review #57
    Submitted:  March 8, 2004
    By: Matt
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

It's a great song.

Review #56
    Submitted:  March 6, 2004
    By: sparkle tangerine
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

I absolutely love the scientist!!!!! I love the way song is sung the way lyrics are in tune with the piano!!!It's a wonderful masterpiece!!! At first I didn't understand it was a love song since i hve limited experience in love(only twelve yrs.) I take piano lessons and I really enjoy playing this!What makes me sad though is that this might be Coldplay's last single!! I heard that the group is splitting up!!!I really hope this doesn't happen!!! The music that Coldplay makes is incredible and in my world Britney Spears or Madonna or Michael Jackson are not the best artists Coldplay is!! People should take the time to stop listening to crud music like Justin Timberlake and at least listen to one song by Coldplay!!! People should broaden their horizons from beyond the top hip hop list and listen to other music for a change!!! I hope everyone agrees with me!!! Coldplay stands out from the rest they're actually original!!! Oh yeah in PeterPan their song 'Clocks' perfectly fit in tune with the movie especially when they were flying to Neverland!!! C ya ;)

Review #55
    Submitted:  March 3, 2004
    By: Sandra
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

i really like the scientist too but i think it could be more than a love song.... everyone can interprete it as he wants because it is a very large meaning song... i love Chris Martin and the other member of the band but i would like to find a web site where the band can explain itself what was the meaning of the song! however the scientist is my favorite love song ever!

Review #54
    Submitted:  February 27, 2004
    By: *Jewels*
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

I bought the cd 'A Rush of Blood to the Head'for the song clocks because i was really into it. i opened it and looked to see what number Clocks was but i pushed the wrong button! I got The Scientist instead. I am living in Holland right now as an exchange partner and I met a super awesome guy there and i really like him but im gonna have to leave him and i put that cd in today before he came over to talk to me and i started to cry because 'Nobody said it was easy, nobody said it would be this hard...' just take me back to the start because i would like to start over again to change some things i did..maybe not get so involved...three months isnt a long time and since i live in Canada, it hard to say if well ever see each other again..but this song is definetly a classic..bravo Coldplay!!

Review #53
    Submitted:  February 23, 2004
    By: Matt
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

i give full marks for the scientist, i know how to play the song aswell, know one will ever now how much love ive got for that song, chris's voice releases so much emotion in the song, the way he sings it. And i love it so much, i dedicated myself to play it on piano, and i did. Well done coldplay, great love song!!!

Review #52
    Submitted:  February 20, 2004
    By: krys
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

'clocks' and 'the scientist': these songs makes me even more suicidal and depressed than i already am, THATS how powerful it is. brilliant. its a wonder how you see chris martin as a happy go lucky guy in real-life, then u look at his band's album and it's all sorrowful and downcast. i think 'clocks' was used in the OST of peter pan 2003, great choice, too, really suits the theme of the movie. but 'the scientist' is still awesome, i think it relates to HG Wells' War of the Worlds, or something. me and my senseless theories. har har de har.

Review #51
    Submitted:  February 10, 2004
    By: dustin gallagher
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

coldplay has done what oasis did not, they had america on its knees.!!! the scientist is the best song in the world! thats some real music. not some skaters trying to be a rockstars. and 4 the record, dave mathews is not even a competion!!!!

Review #50
    Submitted:  January 31, 2004
    By: tooog
    rating:  7 (out of 10)

now dont get me wrong im a big coldplay fan and this is a great song. but by far the best love song or any song out these days is ..if your not the one.. by daniel bedingfield.. pure song writing class !!!

Review #49
    Submitted:  January 30, 2004
    By: Christie DIVEterano
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

beautiful song....it reminds me of my x boyfriend...we were together for five years, if i could just play this for him to let him know im sorry....and its just ashame we have to part....but nobody said it was easy....wonderfuls song, truly a classic

Review #48
    Submitted:  January 25, 2004
    By: Sid Perez
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

Everytime I hear 'The Scientist' it reminds me of a beautiful teacher that I had the pleasure of working with. I was the janitor at an elementary school in Arkansas, U.S.A. I fell in love with her. We were starting to get close but the school administrators pulled the puzzles apart and separated us. It still hurts me and I have been trying to recover but it seems that the only way is to try and forget but there are alot of signs that pop up and remind me of her. And yes, I wish I see her again and tell her that I need her. And I wish I could go back to the start. I like to write and I have written a screenplay about my experiences as a janitor and the love that I have for this teacher. It would be nice for Coldplay to sing the song at the end of the moviescript. I pray to God that he gives me strength to overcome this pain. And if it is His will for us to be together again. I hope. Bravo to Coldplay and 'The Scientist'

Review #47
    Submitted:  December 27, 2003
    By: The Intruder
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

The absolute Best song EVER. Honestly a true master piece. The best lines are '..Tell you I'm Sorry, You don't know how lovely you are', 'Tell you I need you..', 'Tell me you love me, come back and haunt me..'. lines that truel bring emotion. Reminds me of an impossible love I have, I don't know why...

Review #46
    Submitted:  November 27, 2003
    By: Jude Thorne
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

Hey, dcc94whatever, are you an idiot? Dave Mathews does the same song over and over and over and over and over and over again! Coldplay is one of the most brutally honest bands ever and should be a huge influence to any musician. This song in particular is a masterpiece. It is simple, but the definition of eloquence. Mathews is a putz...

Review #45
    Submitted:  November 18, 2003
    By: Nic
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

for a long time now i've really connected to the words of colplay, some dont like the slowness of it but you have to put yourself in that mood, and if you are already in it then coldplay is #1 for sure. it does put you in an emotional state, and its easy to relate. wicked song and so many other wicked ones as well

Review #44
    Submitted:  November 11, 2003
    By: veronica
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

You know everytime I hear this song, i cant help feeling very nostalgic and emotional. Ill stop whatever it is im doing to reflect on everything that has happened to me this past year...I can definitely relate to the content of the song..about a year ago I had a horrible train accident,that has drastically changed my life. Theres not a day that goes by, where i dont wish i could go back to the start, turn back time, and just have that second chance. And hes right...no one ever said it would be so hard...sure his stuff is sad and a bit weepy, but who cares, if it touches your heart and is something you can relate to, then thats what matters. I wish people would get out of that whole pop bubble gum music that lacks originality anyway, and actually try music that challenges the emotion.

Review #43
    Submitted:  November 10, 2003
    By: J . DM
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

HMMMMMM..........SORRY HAVE NOT HEARD THE SONG BUT HEARD THE SONGS ARE TOO SLOW THAT IS WHY I DIDN'T BUY THE CD

Review #42
    Submitted:  November 7, 2003
    By: javagold
    rating:  9 (out of 10)

great song indeed...however i believe the video, is a possible hit and run as he must have left the scene of the accident !!!!!!

Review #41
    Submitted:  November 2, 2003
    By: Johan Marseille Ultime
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

First, im sorry if you're not able to understand what i say cause i'm french and my english isn't perfect ! So, i just wanna say this song takes me fare away from our both world, when i am listennig to it, my heart is soooooooooo [ i dont know da word ]. Easier I LOVE THIS SONG !!! greetings all ! =)

Review #40
    Submitted:  November 1, 2003
    By: Rob
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

Recently my daughter was extremely ill, and both her and her mother were staying away while she recuperated. I had held back all emotion for weeks when she was ill, but driving home one night after visiting her, I turned on the radio to hear this. The floodgates opened and 'The Scientist' was the catylist. For many reasons, this is my favorite song of all time (Not least because I can play it on the piano). T A truly inspired piece of art

Review #39
    Submitted:  October 30, 2003
    By: mozza
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

Usually it takes 3 or 4 listens to realise a song is good, but with The Scientist it was instant after hearing the first 4 chords, and it just got better from there. I've used this song for my university media project which was an emotional project for me to produce. Love playing this song on the piano while the CD is playing too, try it - It's not that hard! I must say that I was never as bigger fan of clocks, but it's still up there with some of the best songs.

Review #38
    Submitted:  October 28, 2003
    By: the white stripes rule :)
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

dcc943, gazza and left ball are fu*kin idiots. coldplay are brilliant. And their songs got some meaning in it other than the sh*t out there today. :p

Review #37
    Submitted:  October 24, 2003
    By: Steven Wade
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

I cry everytime I hear this song cause it makes me thing of my exgirlfriend Sharon. She is so beautiful and wonderful. She's the best thing to ever have happened to me. This song puts it into perspective how life is so short and teaches us to treasure the times we have with that special someone.

Review #36
    Submitted:  October 19, 2003
    By: me
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

Thanks TF for explaining why it was called 'the scientist' - makes sense to me now! This song is amazing, its one you can actually sit down and listen to every word of without being distracted.

Review #35
    Submitted:  October 18, 2003
    By: Anita
    rating:  9 (out of 10)

LOve this song! ^___~ It's very nice! Coldplay rulez!!!

Review #34
    Submitted:  October 18, 2003
    By: Anita
    rating:  9 (out of 10)

LOve this song! ^___~ It's very nice! Colplay rulz

Review #33
    Submitted:  October 15, 2003
    By: 6ft 1 @ 15 years old
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

Yes. This song is fantastic. Coldplay deserve every credit they get for producing such a wonderful song. The video is also fantastic, the first time you watch it you just get a wave of emotions. It makes you realise that death is just a second away at any time. This may seem sad but Coldplay combine it with their musical talent to produce another outstanding song. Everyone I know loves this song and think Coldplay rule. Come on Coldplay, please produce another fantastic song!

Review #32
    Submitted:  October 6, 2003
    By: christie
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

I have been a Coldplay fan for three years. I heard on a unfamiliar radioo station in KC, the song Yellow. I predicted to many people ' Coldplay ' will be huge. People said yea right and comments like ' never heard of em'' Take a look people, I WAS RIGHT!

Review #31
    Submitted:  October 2, 2003
    By: Tim Faithfull
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

I loved clocks, and I didn't think anyone could better that. How right it is that Coldplay should prove me wrong - The Scientist is a truly beautiful song, and is the best example to date of the subtleties lurking in Chris Martin's head. Not many songs make me sit up and take notice, but this is one of them. Thank god someone can still make music like this, well done Coldplay.

Review #30
    Submitted:  September 28, 2003
    By: Lance
    rating:  9 (out of 10)

This song gives you a 'lost' feeling... It makes you think of everything when you here the intro, and as the song goes on when it ends you find yourself lost:) Coldplay have given their lyrics a great home with the music they have created here. Ciao Clif

Review #29
    Submitted:  September 24, 2003
    By: TF
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

This song speaks to everyone. We have all felt the despair, disbelief and regret. We've all wanted a chance to go back to the start. I bet every one of us has a specific person we think of when we hear this song. It is incredibly powerful. Regarding the title, I read an interview with Chris Martin, and he stated the title was derived from sitting there and thinking, and analyzing, and evaluating every aspect of his then current relationship, and trying to be logical, rational and well, scientific about something that is purely emotional.

Review #28
    Submitted:  September 16, 2003
    By: Someone that likes good music.
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

It is without a doubt a great song. Chris Martin nailed what the art of music is. The piano, vocal chords, lyrics, the accustic guitar and every ingridient make this a masterpiece. Thanks ColdPlay!

Review #27
    Submitted:  September 14, 2003
    By: me
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

Its a fantastic song, I love it. But can someone please explain to me what science or scientists has to do with what the song is about? And why its called the scientist?

Review #26
    Submitted:  September 3, 2003
    By: tpz
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

their songs never manage to go to the top ten but it stays on the chart longer than any song. i like the music video for this song

Review #25
    Submitted:  September 3, 2003
    By: Alanis
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

Great great song. The video is great, too. I have been a Colplay fan for only about 3 or so months, but this is my favorite song next to 'A Rush Of Blood To The Head' and 'In My Place'. In my place should be their next single...

Review #24
    Submitted:  September 1, 2003
    By: EJU
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

Nobody said it was easy. No one ever said it would be this hard. Oh take me back to the start. This song is amazing. For the most part I listen to hiphop and rap but Coldplay is the one band that defy's this. Shiver, Yellow, In my place, Clocks are amazing as well.

Review #23
    Submitted:  August 22, 2003
    By: BlackAdder
    rating:  9 (out of 10)

Coldplay's best song. As good as 'In My Place' and 'Clocks' are, 'The Scientist' just blow me away each time I hear it. Nothing else on the charts has this much pure emotion.

Review #22
    Submitted:  August 11, 2003
    By: A.Michael
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

There's is little I can say that hasn't been already said. This song just blows everything out of my mind, and I just stand shell-shocked as the melodies linger hauntingly in my head. I first heard this song, and it was like a calling out in the distance, and my thoughts immediatly turned towards my wife (and I had no idea what the words were, just the melody stuck in me). I saw the video, read the words, read the many reviews on how this piece affected others. This tune has my name on it, giving me a greater appreciation for my wife and our relationship. If you haven't seen the video, it's unbelieveable.

Review #21
    Submitted:  August 10, 2003
    By: Aug. 10, 2003
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

'The Scientist' is truely one of the best love songs I've heard in such a long long time. Every time I listen to it my eyes get watery. I sit in silence and my mind runs blank of everything that is bothering me and the only thing I can think about are the lyrics to the song. Chris Martin I a true artist. Coldplay rocks \\m//

Review #20
    Submitted:  August 8, 2003
    By: Penelope Barcelo
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

This has probably got to be the only real 'Love' song out there today, it's has everything. The piano, passionate lyrics and a great voice to go along with it. The way Chris Martin hit's every key on the piano just makes me cry everytime I listen to 'The Scientist'. I actually stop and wherever I am I'm just in ecstacy the whole entire time because it's just one of the most beautiful songs ever. I went to their concert in May at the Shorline in Mountain View, CA and even though our seats sucked, I didn't care. I am not liying, everyone in that audience went weak at the song even some of the guys were crying...it was great. So yeah I have to just say to Chris and all of Coldplay...thankyou for making my spirits just lift whenever I hear that song...it's beautiful.

Review #19
    Submitted:  August 8, 2003
    By: Amii
    rating:  9 (out of 10)

I own 'Parachutes' and 'Rush of Blood' and this song is one of my absolute favorites. The Scientist literally makes me weak when I hear it, and I have to stop whatever I'm doing to sit and just listen to all the intonations and musical fluctuations that have been masterfully encorporated in this song. You Rock Coldplay!

Review #18
    Submitted:  July 17, 2003
    By: DJ Ozzy
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

Its such a great and beautiful song. No doubt about it. I was reading some of the other reviews, some negative, and saying no voice or talent, come on people. I especially love clocks, it has a touch of U2 in it, and first time hearing it on the radio I thought U2 had a new song out. Recommend both songs!!!!

Review #17
    Submitted:  July 11, 2003
    By: Sue
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

I love this song because it is very enjoyable. I especially like the song clocks because I like the way the piano is played.

Review #16
    Submitted:  June 30, 2003
    By: gazza
    rating:  5 (out of 10)

its sh**

Review #15
    Submitted:  June 29, 2003
    By: LiLi
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

This is such a beautiful song, and i don't call any song beautiful, so i really mean it. I think Coldplay is such a great band, i lvoe every one of their songs i have heard or downloaded, and anyone that says anything bad about them, needs to look around and see that most music today sucks!!

Review #14
    Submitted:  June 27, 2003
    By: Me
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

Coldplay never ceases to amaze me. This is a great song and now one of my favorites (among many other Coldplay songs).

Review #13
    Submitted:  June 25, 2003
    By: MWL
    rating:  8 (out of 10)

This song is simply a masterpiece. Being a new piano student, I admire Martin's musical creativity.

Review #12
    Submitted:  June 20, 2003
    By: becky
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

this song is so great. the lyrics and piano solos just get to you somehow. the video is so cool...i have loved all of coldplays songs so far and this one is one of my favorites!!

Review #11
    Submitted:  June 10, 2003
    By: Erin
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

The Scientist is the most beautiful song I have ever heard and is by far my favorite song ever. I went to the Coldplay concert and the minute Chris Martin started playing the song, I started to tear. It is such a beautiful love song and is the best song from Chris Martin.

Review #10
    Submitted:  May 19, 2003
    By: Misty
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

I absolutely love this song - to me it exemplifies everything that a love song should have - mainly passion so deep that you can feel and believe everthing Chris is saying. I was really dissapointed that this song didnt take off here in Canada, but hey their fans can enjoy it on the cd

Review #9
    Submitted:  May 19, 2003
    By: Misty
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

I love this song - to me it exemplies everything that a love song should have - mainly passion so deep that you can feel and believe everthing Chris is saying. I was really dissapointed that this song didnt take off here in Canada, but hey their fans can enjoy it on the cd

Review #8
    Submitted:  May 19, 2003
    By: Philip
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

no doubt this song is one of the best songs that has come out this year. my opinion is colplay and david gray are the 2 of the best artists out there and this song should win some award because it's flat out great and i don't care what anyone else says!!!

Review #7
    Submitted:  May 9, 2003
    By: Left Ball
    rating:  4 (out of 10)

There are worse bands around, but Coldplay are overhyped, I cannot see what is so special about them.

Review #6
    Submitted:  April 30, 2003
    By: dcc943
    rating:  0 (out of 10)

There is nothing that special about Chris Martin. He does not have that good of a voice. Their songs are nothing that Dave Matthews Band couldn't do.

Review #5
    Submitted:  April 27, 2003
    By: SepHiRoS
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

It's sad how good music isn't appreciated anymore...people such as 50 cent, or Avril are at higher ranks than Coldplay?? well of course, Clocks is n.1, and it's well earned, but Scientist is a great song too, and I say it should be about number 10...once again, great song Coldplay, thank you

Review #4
    Submitted:  April 20, 2003
    By: hkey333
    rating:  8 (out of 10)

Another great song from the guys from coldplay. Me thinks after Clocks, they will re-release The Scientist as the next single. The video they made for this was great too.

Review #3
    Submitted:  March 17, 2003
    By: Flunker
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

This should be the superior type of love song. Chris Martin is really great. This is the best Coldplay song ever. And i'm happy they've won a grammy again for 'In My Place'. I like the melody a lot and the lyrics and the tune really exemplifies Coldplay as a superb and talented band. I hope this is not the last coldplay smasher

Review #2
    Submitted:  December 13, 2002
    By: kevlinefm, the creator of Supreme Top 29
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

Hey! It's me once again. Coldplay returns to the UK Chart Top 75 with a brand new single 'The Scientist'. Just as I guessed, a kinda moody one at first with 'In My Place', then a slow romantic track with 'The Scientist'. I've noticed that in USA, 'Clocks' is released as the second single. Anyway, I'll just talk about 'The Scientist' only. It's an incredible track as Chris Martin's singing has improved a lot since 'In My Place'. I'm sure that Mr. Martin did the beautifully sounding piano work like he did too in 'Trouble'. I just couldn't control myself to connect 'The Scientist' with 'Trouble' as the two singles sound alike. Enough said, it was a good song. Hope that their next release will be a more successful one.

Review #1
    Submitted:  November 20, 2002
    By: Chris Korzenietz
    rating:  9 (out of 10)

Chris Martin has done it once again, a brilliant piece that incoperates all the ingredients for a great indie song. The piano solo intro strikes a chord in your heart, the lyrics mean something and Chris's voice has vastly improved since parachutes thanks to singing lessons for the past two years. A great song for one of the greatest bands in the world.

Click here to write a song review

          


Inspirational Quotes       ihop coupons       Logos

Contact THO   |    Partners   |    Advertise Here   |    Privacy Policy
Copyright © 1995-2014 TopHitsOnline.com, All Rights Reserved