Search THO

      

Email Updates


What's this?


Cheap Soccer Shirts

Sting - Send Your Love
Reviews & Comments


Lyrics

Album: Sacred Love


Write a review for this song

Listen / Buy
Artist Chart History

Review #18
    Submitted:  January 30, 2004
    By: cop_in_material_world
    rating:  8 (out of 10)

Sting has once again infused in his lyrics a sense of self-examination that offers itself outward for our own examination. Send Your Love is a summoning [to paraphrase Sting's own use of his last name, Sumner] of the awesome potential beyond our own self-centered egos to a greater awareness of our banded spirit: '../time to heed your call' Anyone truly following Sting's intellectual songwriting from the Police to the present will recognize his signature lyrical harkening back, with its layered, melodic desires to move boldly forward into other musical territories yet unexplored.

Review #17
    Submitted:  January 22, 2004
    By: Mike Snow
    rating:  5 (out of 10)

I was very saddened by the Oprah incident, he just sat there and didnt as much as flinch when Oprah swooned over the lyrics. Sting is a straight up crook with no respect for William Blake or his fans. Pox on him! and shame on Oprah for not knowing classic poetry!

Review #16
    Submitted:  January 22, 2004
    By: racerX
    rating:  0 (out of 10)

His name should be STINK not Sting. He stinks and his music stinks peeeeuuuwww I can smell his stank from here. Plus, he's stinky plagiarist phony pseudo- intellectual moron. He has an exagerated sense of self importance and a over inflated ego. He's pretty hot lookin though.

Review #15
    Submitted:  January 22, 2004
    By: Tariqo
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

Sting is the best....... whats up black people!!!!!!!!!!! fu>

Review #14
    Submitted:  January 20, 2004
    By: dudlydoright
    rating:  5 (out of 10)

Sting is an arrogant jerk anyway so it's not surprise - plus the song stinks. I don't know the poem you're talking about but I don't think Carson does either cause he/she doesn't even know that near is an adjective not an adverb.

Review #13
    Submitted:  January 20, 2004
    By: molly1
    rating:  5 (out of 10)

Carson???!!!!! Plagiarism is a huge deal!!! You can be booted from any university in the U.S for not citing appropriate sources! The point is that he is taking artistic credit (and monetary rewards!) from something someone elses work. Sting is a great song writer - no doubt about that and I love his music. But it was disrespectful of him not to give credit.

Review #12
    Submitted:  January 17, 2004
    By: Carson
    rating:  9 (out of 10)

i think you guys need to get over where he got the lyrics from. who really cares? sorry i do not give a rats rear and know that near all artists of today borrow from others. is it a big deal... no. get over it. its a great song. try to enjoy something for once in your life people instead of criticizing and crying about things. great song!!

Review #11
    Submitted:  January 6, 2004
    By: Dominique
    rating:  0 (out of 10)

My last review I meant to put a ZERO for the rating :) --And i think something should be said and have it on the news on how he stole those lyrics!!

Review #10
    Submitted:  January 6, 2004
    By: Dominique
    rating:  5 (out of 10)

As I was in the kitchen the tv was on and Oprah was ranting and raving about Sting's lyrics as she began to read them. I was turned away from the tv doing something but I was listening. Then I heard the part 'To see a World in a Grain of Sand And a Heaven in a Wild Flower, Hold Infinity in the palm of your hand And Eternity in an hour' I said the words along with Oprah saying that he STOLE THAT from Blake. And I am extremely upset because as I was watching he did not mention 1 word of Blake!! And as I was reading other reviews people said he stole more quotes and put them into different songs!!! WHATTTTTTTTT!!!

Review #9
    Submitted:  December 31, 2003
    By: Alx Who
    rating:  5 (out of 10)

I too am upset and surprised that when Oprah was gushing over the lyrics and asking WHERE he came up with these ideas, he made no mention of Blake. The only valid excuse I can think of is that as a teacher and an Englishman maybe he thinks it is totally obvious where the lyrics came from so that it is not even worth mentioning? If he sand 'Wherefore art thuou Romeo' i wouldnt think it plagirism. Still, Im baffled and disapointed. I would just like to hear him speak out on this. Otherwise i'm starting to wonder if his other great lyrics might come from poems I just dont recognize....and I used to love him. :(

Review #8
    Submitted:  December 7, 2003
    By: Cyndi
    rating:  0 (out of 10)

The arrogance of this man is beyond belief. Just because the words are not subject to copyright laws is no excuse.

Review #7
    Submitted:  November 4, 2003
    By: Murphy Girl
    rating:  5 (out of 10)

I bought the CD hoping to find reference to William Blake...nothing. I watched Oprah waiting for recognition of William Blake...nothing. I am off to buy Sting's new book with hopes I'll find it there. Send Your Love? How about Sending Your audience the name of the true poet and author of these beautiful words. Sting...I'm so disappointed!

Review #6
    Submitted:  November 4, 2003
    By: molly1
    rating:  0 (out of 10)

I watched Sting take credit for the lyrics on Oprah and I was extrememly dissapointed in Sting. Oprah was gushing about the beautiful lyrics and Sting simply nodded - not a mention of William Blake. I had never heard the song before but as Oprah read the lyrics I became really annoyed. I turned to my sister and said 'he didn't write those words!'. I'm bummed. He should have done the right thing and at least said that the words were 'inspired by' (more like stolen from) Blake.

Review #5
    Submitted:  November 4, 2003
    By: Chaim Weinstein
    rating:  0 (out of 10)

How can you possibly give a decent rating to a song that has been so baldly plagiarized? Is Sting so disrespectful of his fans to believe that we are all uneducated and only interested in his sounds? This from the man whose 'Fragile' is so hauntingly beautiful. Shame on you, Sting. You should publicly apologize and issue it in major periodicals.

Review #4
    Submitted:  November 2, 2003
    By: Laurent Somers
    rating:  10 (out of 10)

I consider it more of a tribute; 'Like a beautiful smile', another track on the album, is pretty much Shakespeare's Sonnet 18 ('Shall I compare thee to a summer's day'). Going back to his earlier album 'Nothing like the sun' - the title is a direct reference to Shakespeare's Sonnet CXXX (My misstress' eyes are nothing like the sun'). Sting trying to get away with plagiarism? Never!

Review #3
    Submitted:  October 28, 2003
    By: Angelais Fionnlig
    rating:  0 (out of 10)

He has borrowed heavily (and I am appalled) from William Blake's poetry. Turned and twisted wee bits, but still a great work of plagiarism. Sting must assume his listeners/followers neither read nor speak up when he takes a loan from the truly great poets of the past. 'To see the world in a grain of sand, and heaven in a wildflower; hold infinity in the palm of your hand, and eternity in an hour ...' William Blake Shame, shame on you Sting!!

Review #2
    Submitted:  October 28, 2003
    By: Angelais Fionnlig
    rating:  0 (out of 10)

He has borrowed heavily (and I am appalled) from William Blake's poetry. Turned and twisted wee bits, but still a great work of plagiarism. Sting must assume his listeners/followers neither read nor speak up when he takes a loan from the truly great poets of the past. 'To see the world in a grain of sand, and heaven in a wildflower; hold infinity in the palm of your hand, and eternity in an hour ...' William Blake Shame, shame on you Sting!!

Review #1
    Submitted:  October 12, 2003
    By: discodoc
    rating:  8 (out of 10)

The lyrics are a bit of a mangled mess (I think Sting is trying just a bit too hard to be 'deep'), but I am impressed that Sting is sticking to his recent movement toward dance music, especially considering that it would be much easier for him to prostitute himself and make just another faceless, low-class hip hop record. I wish Sting continued success!

Click here to write a song review

          


Inspirational Quotes       ihop coupons       Logos

Contact THO   |    Partners   |    Advertise Here   |    Privacy Policy
Copyright © 1995-2014 TopHitsOnline.com, All Rights Reserved